Ruhr Museum

Ruhr Museum

The Ruhr Museum is located in the former Coal Washing Plant of the Zollverein Coal Mine, Shaft XII in Essen, Germany. It has existed since 01.01.2008 as a dependent foundation within the Zollverein Foundation funded by the Federal State of North Rhine-Westphalia, the Rhineland Regional Council (Landschaftsverband Rheinland; LVR) and the city of Essen. As a unique type of regional museum it showcases the entire natural and cultural history of the Ruhr area in its permanent exhibition. It is not a traditional industrial museum, but presents itself as the memory of and a window for the new Ruhr Metropolis.

The Ruhr Museum has extensive collections on the geology, archaeology, history and photography of the Ruhr area, consisting mainly of artefacts from the collections of the former Ruhrlandmuseum. The collections are continuously being enhanced, in particular with regional artefacts. In addition to the permanent exhibition “Nature, Culture and History of the Ruhr Area”, the Ruhr Museum regularly creates special exhibitions, including those which do not necessarily refer to the Ruhr area. It combines its extensive exhibition and event programme with the Denkmalpfad (Zollverein Heritage Trail), the Route der Industriekultur (The Industrial Heritage Trail) and the Portal der Industriekultur (Portal of Industrial Heritage) in the coal washing plant.

Since its opening on the 9th January 2010, together with the European Capital of Culture RUHR. 2010, the Ruhr Museum developed into a tourist attraction. Over 400.000 visitors were counted in the first year. Also in the future the Ruhr Museum is going to focus on its two main cultural tasks: Education and Tourism.

 

 

 

Auf dem Bild sehen Sie die Außenansicht des RuhrmuseumsAuf dem Bild sehen Sie den Eingang zum Treppenhaus

Ruhr Museum

Ruhr Museum

Das Ruhr Museum befindet sich in der ehemaligen Kohlenwäsche der Zeche Zollverein, Schacht XII in Essen. Es existiert seit dem 1. Januar 2008 als unselbstständige Stiftung innerhalb der Stiftung Zollverein in der Trägerschaft des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen, des Landschaftsverbandes Rheinland und der Stadt Essen. Als Regionalmuseum zeigt es in seiner Dauerausstellung die gesamte Natur- und Kulturgeschichte des Ruhrgebietes. Es versteht sich nicht als klassisches Industriemuseum, sondern als Gedächtnis und Schaufenster der Metropole Ruhr.

Das Ruhr Museum verfügt über umfangreiche Sammlungen zur Geologie, Archäologie, Geschichte und Fotografie, die im Wesentlichen auf den Sammlungen des ehemaligen Ruhrlandmuseums der Stadt Essen beruhen. Sie werden insbesondere mit regionalem Bezug ständig vermehrt und thematisch erweitert. Neben der Dauerausstellung zur Natur, Kultur und Geschichte des Ruhrgebietes zeigt das Ruhr Museum regelmäßig Sonderausstellungen, auch zu Themen, die sich nicht auf das Ruhrgebiet beziehen. Es verbindet sein umfangreiches Ausstellungs- und Veranstaltungsprogramm mit dem Denkmalpfad ZOLLVEREIN®, der Route der Industriekultur und dem Portal der Industriekultur in der Kohlenwäsche.

Seit seiner Eröffnung am 9. Januar 2010 gemeinsam mit der Kulturhauptstadt RUHR.2010 hat sich das Ruhr Museum zu einem Publikumsmagneten entwickelt. Über 400.000 Besucher sahen im ersten Jahr die Dauerausstellung und die Wechselausstellungen des Museums. Auch in Zukunft orientiert sich das Ruhr Museum an seinen zwei kulturellen Hauptaufgaben: Bildung und Tourismus.

Auf dem Bild sehen Sie die Außenansicht des RuhrmuseumsAuf dem Bild sehen Sie den Eingang zum Treppenhaus